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*Goldenbearloan.com is a personal webpage of Jason Andrews whom is employed by Midas Financial. dba Aapex Mortgage. To verify his employment with Aapex Mortgage and Midas Financial please call ( 866) 944-3065. |
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Introduction: |
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Alot of times credit issues can be resolved fairly quickly with systems that lenders use like "Rapid Rescoring".
Some loan programs will allow you to purchase or refinance one day out of bankruptcy (some up to 100% loan to value) and others will allow a bankrputcy buy out to refinance (Chapter 13). If you are looking to do a bankruptcy buy out, you must first get permission from the bankruptcy judge and make sure your payments on the plan have been current for at least 12 months. By rolling the bankruptcy into your mortgage debt you could save hundreds every month. It is also a good idea to think about debt consolidation before filing for bankruptcy. It could save you money and not hurt your credit like a bankruptcy will.
You may want to consider professional credit improvement programs, which can boost credit scores to qualify for bad credit mortgage programs
Banks evaluate the credit worthiness of a loan application by three major criteria, credit, income, and assets. Potential home buyers with bad credit profiles should scrutinize their other two aspects. A mortgage applicant with poor credit can most likely get home financing if his income is proved to be sufficient to repay the loan and his other debts, and if he has ample assets as reserves after making a large down payment towards the house.
When considering getting a mortgage with poor credit it is often important to employ a long term strategy. One such strategy might be to take a two year fixed subprime loan and pay off consumer debts through the loan. With the debts paid off and better monthly cash flow the borrower should have a much better credit score two years down the line. At that time the borrower can refinance into a more permanent financing program such as a thirty year fixed.
The best way to get a Mortgage with poor credit, is a large down payment. The more money you put down, the easier it will be to get a mortgage. But even if you can not afford a large down payment, there are loan programs for people with poor credit and there are also down payment assistance programs.
There are many sub-prime and niche lenders available to people with poor credit. These lenders have very aggressive programs available to help almost any borrower. There are even programs available for 100% financing. A qualified mortgage professional will be able to find you the best lender to fit your particular situation.
Home Loan for People with Bad Credit - Lenders nationwide have several loan programs available that allow people with bad credit to qualify for a home loan.
Professional Credit improvement is an excellent way to increase your credit scores.
Alot of times credit issues can be resolved fairly quickly to enable a home purchase or refinance.
It is a myth that people with a bad credit score cannot qualify for a home loan.
Depending on the situation and exact circumstances involved, borrowers with a previous bankruptcy or late payments on other debts can often qualify with rates the same or close to those offered to borrowers with perfect credit.
Mortgage Brokers have access to subprime and niche lenders that often have loans programs that are targeted to borrowers with bad or poor credit.
Borrowers that are 1 day of bankruptcy, 1 day out of foreclosure, mulitple collection accounts, and recent late payments are a few of the profiles that fit within these niche programs.
Remember bad credit does not disqualify you from getting a home loan. Having bad credit does not mean that you have to continue to rent or live with relatives, with the loan programs available today even you can own your own home.
One thing that can often help a borrower with a bad credit history is good, sensible explanations for the credit difficulties. If the borrower can provide some sort of documentation to back up these explanations it is all the better.
There are many programs for people who have had events in their lives which have caused them to have a less than disireable credit score. The lenders that loan this kind of money are called subprime lenders. Some of these lenders have very agressive programs for individuals and families that allow them to obtain a mortgage, even if it's for a short period of time.
One can easily obtain a home loan even with bad credit history. Banks grant mortgage loans depending on three factors. Credit profile is only one. The other factors are income and assets. A home buyer can acquire a bad credit mortgage as long as he has compensating factors such as good income and strong assets.
If you are for some reason unable to secure home financing ask your mortgage broker to refer you to a good credit repair company. These companies can usually improve your credit score and increase your ability to secure home financing.
No Points No Fees Loan - These loans are possible. The lender will give the broker a comission if you take a loan with a higher rate then what you qualify for at even (par) pricing. So if you qualify for a 7% and take a 7.5% instead then the lender will compensate the broker. The broker then uses this compensation to cover all of your fees for the loan plus pays himself. In the end you can get a loan for no points and no fees and the broker still gets paid for the work.
No Points No Fees or Zero Closing Cost loans are usually not available on smaller loan amounts.
There are Mortgage Brokers and Agents who have special pricing available with the banks they wok with, and who have worked out special pricing with their title and escrow companies. Some of these Brokers can offer borrowers a Cost Free Refinance, at truly competitive interest rates. Make sure to always compare the Good Faith Estimates(GFE) between the brokers/banks you are considering doing business with. The GFE's will show your total costs as well as the interest rate and APR.
If you are planning to stay in your home for 1-2 years you should consider a zero cost loan.
Such a program may end up costing you significantly more in the long-run depending on the loan type.
Be careful of those that tout "no fee loan," when in reality they only intend on not charging origination points or processing fees. In this particular case the lender still will be charging all other fees associated with the loan. A Good Faith Estimate should dispel what is really being paid for or assumed in the financing.
The no points or no fee loans are best for short term loans. If it is a property that you plan on living in for a short time than the thoasands that you save in fees will be greater than the savings for the first few years allowing you to close your mortgage with less money out of your pocket or a lesser loan amount.
Not all No Fees Loans are created equal. Some No Fees loans require the home buyer to pay for home inspection and appraisal report. Others only mean no lender fees. Applicants are still required to pay for third party fee such as recording fee, taxes, insurance, etc. When shoppin for No Fee loans, it is important to compare the Good Faith Estimates and find out what exactly are being paid by the lenders.
Become an educated consumer and directly ask the lender what is included in the "no fees" loan and if it covers third party fees. Then ask how it will effect your interest rate.
For Sale By Owner Tips - Tips for your Open House:
Always answer any questions honestly. If there is an ugly patch of carpet where your dog chewed up an ink pen, let the prospective buyers know. If the roof leaks in the spring, but it's now summer and you've painted over the stain, tell the prospect. Anything you misrepresent can and probably will be used against you. And of course, you would want the same honesty when you purchase.
Remember to be willing to show your home a lot. In the end its well worth it.
Lots of Mortgage Brokers have a call capture number that comes along with an attention getting sign like 100 Percent Financing. Call for 24 hour Recorded Message that they can lend you to help manage and up the traffic on calls. They automatically capture the number of the caller like caller ID and can have it sent real time by email and text message to the seller and broker for quick prequalification.
Probably the most critical component to the success or failure of a For Sale By Owner is the asking price. It must be high enough so the seller doesn't do all the work for nothing, yet pricing too high will make it hard to generate interest in the property. Many Realtors will perform a Comparative Market Analysis even though they are not going to be listing the home for sale. They do this because they feel the seller may let the Realtor represent them on the purchase of the seller's next home. The CMA can prove very valuable in helping the seller determine a proper asking price.
One way to prevent potential litigation for a problem you were unaware of is to hire an inspector to go through your home before you list it. That way, there will be no nasty surprises years later when the new owners discover something that began while you owned it--but didn't disclose.
You don't have necessarily have to fix the problems, but you do have to disclose their existence.
Teenagers' rooms can be a special challenge. They often leave piles of dirty laundry on top of plates of half-eaten food. Make sure these rooms get the top-to-bottom scrutiny they need--and for heaven's sake, use some kind of air-freshener.
The same goes for the bathroom or baby's room. Bad odors can be deal killers. How would the buyer know if its permanent or not?
The National Association of REALTORS estimates that nationwide thirteen percent of real estate sales are done without any involvement from an agent or broker
Be sure and take a look at local and national FSBO compnaies. Many can get your home listed on the MLS system for a very small fee and provide you with the documnets and information you need to do the job yourself. Plus you get the added bonus of also being featured on there website. You may also want to have open house attendee's sign a guest book with there contact information so you can follow up with them at a later date.
Most important...make sure your house is CLEAN! Potential buyers don't want to see an inch of dust on the baseboards. If your house looks dirty, who's to say the upkeep and necessary maintenance have been done.
The kitchen is the single most important room that sells the house. Create a spacious feeling in the kitchen by putting away small appliances, such as microwave oven, toaster, and blender. Also be sure the kitchen counter is free of personal mails, magazines and newspapers.
There can be a great win win situation created for a FSBO and Mortage Broker working together where the Broker is taking the phone calls for you. The Broker can determine rather quickly rather a potential buyer would be waste of time for the owner of the property by pulling credit and assessing their potential for obtaining a mortgage.
A mortgage professional can often times help you sell your home faster, by providing free marketing, and even potential qualified buyers.
Disqualifying prospective buyers on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, handicap, familiy status, or national origin is illegal. Discrimination can get you into a heap of legal trouble and can cost you big bucks. If in doubt, check with the Equal Housing Opportunity agency in your area.
You are attempting to sell your home yourself to avoid paying several thousand dollars in commmissions. Be willing to spend some of that on advertising. Remember your home is competing for attention with those listed by real estate agents and they are putting ads in homes magazines, mailing out flyers, etc. A small 4 or 5 line ad once a week will most likely not get the job done. Establish a budget that will realistically promote the sale of your home.
Check with a title company for a FSBO kit. Many of them will provide them at no cost to encourage the seller to use them to close the loan. The kit will have a purchase agreement and other helpful information.
One effective way to get a win-win is to help someone with no down payment money on a For Sale By Owner home. The seller is more likely to agree to seller concessions when they know they are saving the realtor commission.
If you find a 100% loan for the buyer and the seller will agree to 6% seller concessions, the broker can get a fair commission for playing real estate agent and directing the parties to a good title company or attorney to help with contracts and closing.
This is often considerably cheaper than FHA because FHA has the mandatory up front PMI of 1.5% although the interest rate may be a little higher than the FHA rate.
You might also ask your mortgage broker about companies that offer to have the PMI added to the interest rate where it is tax deductible, or have them do an 80/20 loan to avoid MI altogether.
Work with a qualified mortgage professional. It cost you nothing, yet they will help you tremendously. A mortgage professional working for the seller should prequalify anyone who shows an interest in your home - even those who say they are already pre-qualified.
This can save you countless hours of frustration dealing with people who are not qualified to purchase your home.
Finding a mortgage professional to work with in your for sale by owner listing can help you alot. They can make flyers for your home giving different payments and scenarios for potential buyers.
Remember less is more and that also means the furniture in your home, areas that have to much furniture will appear smaller in size than reality.
Remove to many personal items so potential buyers can see there own stuff fiting right in.
Burn a candle to make your home smell fresh and inviting.
80/15/5 - 80/15/5 - two mortgages with the loan amounts of the first being 80% of the property value, the second being 15% and a 5% down payment.
This loan structure is often used when the borrower needs to borrower more than 80% and wants to avoid buying Private Mortgage Insurance.
Depend on the borrowers financial situation, a loan officer can structure a 80/10/10, 80/20, or any combination thereof.
Another alternative is talk to us about loans which do not require PMI mortgage isurance even above 80% which may be available in your county.
1003 - This is the number assigned by the Federal government to the standard form which all customers fill out to apply for a home loan.
Actually the official title of the form 1003 is the Uniform Residential Loan Application or URLA.
A 1003 Uniform Residential Loan Application can be completed either as a hand-written document or a computer generated document. All signitures should be written in ink.
The 1003 may also be known as the loan application.
The 1003 also includes sections that detail the borrowers assets and liabilities.
The 1003, otherwise known as the Uniform Residential Loan Application, has to be used for all conforming loans delivered to Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac. This loan application form is so widely accepted that it is used for even nonconforming loans that are not meant to be sold to FNMA and FHLMC.
The first page of 1003 application contains all the borrower, coborrower, property and loan information. The beginning section of the first page details the property and purpose of loan. The Second section contains all borrower and coborrower personal information. The last section details employment information for borrowers.
A 1003 gives a "bird-eyes" view of an applicant/applicants for a mortgage. It describes the person, income, liabilities, and assets. It's the basic and essential peice to applying for a home loan.
The 1003 form has recently changed its look. New 1003 forms are on standard letter size pages. Older 1003 forms were legal size. If you filled out an older form the lender may require you to fill out the newer form depending on when your loan closes.
Effective Jan 1, 2006, the new 1003 is now required. Your borrower initial 1003 may have been signed prior to Jan 1, 2006. However, most lenders will require the final 1003 to be signed at closing.
Depending on what loan type you and your mortgage broker choose you will have to support the information in the 1003 with more documentation. For income you will need 4 weeks worth of pay stubs along with 2 years tax returns. For your down payment or cash reserves you will need 2 months bank statements which shows source and seasoning on funds. For employment you will need a verification of employment (VOE) and for mortgage history you will need a VOM or verification of mortgage to show the last payments have been made on time.
Budget - A detailed record of all income earned and spent during a specific period of time.
Most loan programs require that your combined housing expenses for the month do not exceed a certain percentage of your income for the month. This is also referred to as you debt-to-income ratio.
Before purchasing a home closly analyze your current budget in order to better understand what you can afford for a monthly mortgage payment.
Loan-to-value - The loan amount divided by the appraised value or sales price of a property, expressed as a percentage.
Another commonly used term is CLTV, or combined loan to value. This references the total LTV of a combo loan. Some banks will give you a two loan combination so you don't have to pay mortgage insurance. In this case, the loan would be something like an 80%/20% or 70%/30%, both of these have a CLTV of 100% but each individual loan has its own LTV.
This will in a lot of cases will determane what the lender can do for you. The lower the Loan-to-value the better of you are.
It is important to remember that when calculating loan to value, lenders will always round up. For example, if your loan to value (LTV), meaning your new loan amount divided by your homes appraised value, is at 88%, your interest rate will be based on the 90% LTV category.
The loan-to-value ratio (abbreviated LTV) is among the most important factors affecting your loan application and the overall program which you will qualify for. We use the loan to value ratio to determine the limits within your debt ratios and where they must fall for you to be approved for a particular loan. LTV may also determine the type of fees and the amount(s) you may be charged for your loan. Furthermore, loan-to-value ratio determines whether or not you must pay Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI) and/or use an impound account / escrow account.
Your loan-to-value ratio (LTV) is a simple calculation of the amount you would like to borrow divided by the value of the property you are purchasing or refinancing. This gives you a simple loan to value ratio. For example, a house valued at $100,000 which you intend to purchase with an $80,000 loan (and a $20,000 down payment of your own cash) is said to have an LTV or loan-to-value ratio of 80 percent, because the amount of the loan represents 80 percent of the value of the property.
The value of your property is either value determined in an appraisal OR the market value of the property (amount you pay for the property), whichever is lower. During the initial stages of qualification and approval, your property value is taken to be an estimate. If necessary for your loan program, this value will be confirmed by a professional appraiser.
CODI - CODI, Certificate of Deposit Index, is a 12-month rolling average of the monthly yield on 3-month CDs borrowed between banks. Rolling average is determined by an average of previous months. Through rates can fluctuate each month, rolling average indices generate smaller incremental rate changes.
Because this index is an annual average, it is more steady than CMT and CD indexes which are very volatile and generally considered to react quickly to change in the market. The CODI and MTA indexes generally fluctuate slightly more than the 11th District COFI, although their movements track each other very closely. The MTA, COFI and CODI-indexed ARMs work much the same way.
COFI - Cost of Funds Index.
COFI is calculated using the weighted average of what the interest member banks in the 11th district (AZ, CA, NV) pay to borrow money, from customer checking and savings accounts as well as wholesale borrowings.
COSI - The Cost of Savings Index. This index is exclusive to World Savings.
COSI is a World Savings unique index which is calcuated at the end of every month by using a weighted average interest rate paid by World Savings on their checking accounts, savings accounts, and CDs. It is published by the 15th of the following month.
COSI is the most stable of all indices.
Fixed-rate mortgage - A mortgage with payments that remain the same throughout the life of the loan because the interest rate and other terms are fixed and do not change.
There is a misconception by the general public. They seem to think that fixed rate is always the best way to go. This is not true because everyone's situation is different. If you were only going to be in a home for 3-5 years then it would cost you more money for the fixed vs. an Adjustable Rate Mortgage (ARM).
Although Fixed Rate Mortgages (FRM) may not be financially right for some homeowners, FRM's nonetheless offer the ease of mind of fixed payments for the life of the loan. For those who plan to move or refinance within a few years, an Adjustable Rate Mortgage or a Hybrid Mortgage is usually the answer, especially in a high-interest environment. For homeowners who are not comfortable with the uncertainty of their future mortgage payments, the psychological and mental benefits of knowing the exact monthly mortgage payment for the entire loan term may outweigh the higher starting rate of a FRM.
The rates for fixed rate mortgages change based on the term you choose. Typically 40 year mortgages have the highest rates, followed by 30 year fixed, 25 year fixed, 20 year fixed, 15 year fixed and 10 year fixed.
If you are planning to use the equity in your home to pay for future like remodeling, college tuition, etc., you way want to think twice about locking in a fixed rate for the next 30 years. There is no reason to pay more than you have to today to guarantee a fixed rate 15 years from now that you won’t be able to benefit from.
Free Rate Quote - Whether you are seeking for a home mortgage refinance or a home purchase loan; for your first home or an investment property; request for a mortgage quote for free. Home mortgage loans for all credit types are offered: bad credit to excellent credit. As a mortgage broker we shop for you to find the most competitive mortgage rate quotes and the best home loans in the industry.
Whenever I give a client a free rate quote I am quoting the lowest possible rate available for the program that best benefits my client on the day that I am quoting. Clients must always understand though that a rate cannot be guaranteed until it is locked by the lender. this applies to anyone who quotes you a rate - it must be locked to be valid.
When comparing rate quotes make sure you consider the fees. Sometimes the fees involved in a loan will make one interest rate more attractive even if its higher.
Some of the things that you will need for an accurate quote is what your credit history looks like, if you have any bankruptcies or foreclosures, what your gross income per year/month is, if you are obligated to pay child support, if you are w-2, 1099 or a self employed borrower, the amount of your total payments per month, your homes value & how much you currently owe. After answering some of these questions we will be able to give you a more accurate rate quote.
If you get multiple quotes try and get the all on the same day, interest rates can vary fromone day to the next.
Be sure to provide accurate responses and information when requesting a rate quote.
With your quote for a rate you should also get a quote for the APR and get a copy of a Good Faith Estimate (GFE) for closing costs.
Make sure your quotes are in writing. It should cost you nothing to get a free loan quote.
Contact me here to discuss your free rate quote!
If taking someone at their word makes you nervous, ask for a Good Faith Estimate.
Interest rates are dependent on the level of inherent risks the lender banks are taking in granting mortgage loans. The more income and asset documents one can supply, the lower the interest rate will be. For this reason, when getting rate quotes from multiple mortgage brokers and banks, be sure to furnish the same and true information. Telling one broker that the application will be full-documentation and another that it will be a no-documentation loan will result in significantly different interest rate quotes.
If your mortgage broker locks a rate for you it does not obligate you in any way to commit to doing business with that person. You can always lock and look. You should always try to get at least 2 seperate quotes to compare.
After you request a rate quote you, the mortgage broker or lender has 3 days after taking a complete application to send you a good faith estimate.
You will pay for what you get when it comes to expertise. The cheapest guy is not always your best bet. You might want to think about doing business with an experienced professional who is well versed in the type of loan you that fits your situation. The Mortgage Broker should take your whole financial situation into account when planning a mortgage for you. There is much more to look at rather than your rates and fees. With the right plan, you might have slightly higher fees but overall you will save thousands of dollars due to other factors.
Prime Rate - The interest rate that banks charge their most creditworthy customers. This is a key interest rate for banks, and a standard within the banking industry. Many home equity lines of credit are based on the prime rate. Rates based on prime can be at prime, below prime, or prime plus 1 percent, for instance. The prime rate usually changes when the Federal Reserve Board increases or decreases the fed funds target rate, which is the rate banks charge each other for overnight loans that often are used to satisfy reserve requirements.
Bimonthly mortgage - A mortgage on which the borrower pays half the monthly payment on the first day of the month, and the other half on the 15th.
This used to help over the long term to lower the princaple to pay the loan of faster. Typical if you do get set up in a bimonthly mortgage you can expect to pay the loan off up to 4 years faster.
3 month LIBOR rate - LIBOR stands for London Interbank Offered Rate. Its the rate of interest at which banks offer to lend money to one another in the wholesale money markets in London. It is a standard financial index used in U.S. capital markets and can be found in the Wall Street Journal. LIBOR rates tend to move in closer concert with global interest rate benchmarks, such as the Fed funds rate, and is a more volatile index than the Monthly Treasury Average.
Borrowers Authorization - A written authorization from the borrower in favor of the lender to gather the necessary informaition about them.
It is very important that borrowers deliver the signed borrower's authorization form to their mortgage professional without delay. Without this important form, the lender cannot obtain documents that are critical to the loan process. This could result in delays in approving and funding the loan.
All mortgage reps are required to have a signed authorization on file.
The sooner the authorization form is signed the sooner the broker can begin doing there job.
Very important letter/document in the Loan Process. This will allow Lenders, Landlords, Banks, or any other person to give your Mortgage Professional access to your personal information. Make sure you have signed this document once you have chosen your Mortgage Professional.
For example your mortgage agent will need this in order to obtain your current payoff if you are doing a refinance, the loss payee changed on your homeowners insurance, pension or social security awards letters etc..
Borrowers signature authorization is also used by lenders allowing them to pull your credit report.
The Authorization gives the loan officer the power to act on the borrower's behalf to getting a mortgage and only on matters in association with getting the said mortgage. By law, without the signed Borrower Authorization, the borrower's bank, with whom the borrower has a checking/savings account and keeps the funds for downpayment and necessary closing costs, is not allowed to disclose any personal financial information regarding the borrower or his checking/savings accounts. Therefore, no verification of funds could be performed without it. In many states, loan officers are also required to have the borrowers' consent before ordering credit reports. The Borrower Authorization Form is one of the documents that a borrower must sign in order to start the mortgage application process.
This one document allows your mortgage professional to accomplish more than any other document you will sign. In addition to verification of funds, handling insurance changes, and pulling credit it allows your mortgage professional to order verification of rent if necessary.
MTA - Monthly Treasury Average (MTA) is athe monthly average yields of U.S. Treasury securities adjusted to a constant maturity of one year.
The MTA is a great tool for investors looking to maximize cash flow. This will allow for more funds to be available to go towards their next investment.
Some MTA loan programs give you three or four choices for each month's payment: You might have the option of making a "minimum payment" that might not even cover the interest accrued in the last month, an interest-only payment, a fully amortizing payment or a full payment plus some extra to be applied to principal.
The 12-Month Treasury Average Index (12-MTA) is based on the average annual yields on U.S. Treasury Securities adjusted to a constant maturity of one year, as made available by the Federal Reserve. The 12 months average is determined by adding together the annual yields for the most recently available 12 months and dividing by 12.
Most MTA Option ARMs rate will start from 1-2%, the payment typically can only go up 7.5% per year, and now you can get a 40 year term on the MTA Option ARM.
Unlike many fixed rate programs the MTA offers up to 4 different payment options. Often these loans are called Pay Option Arms or Pick A Payment Arms because of the ability to choose the type of payment you want to make each month. Those options include 1) Minimum Payment 2)Interest Only Payment 3) 30 Year Amortized Payment 4) 15 Year Amortized Payment.
Many people choose these loans when they know they will not stay in the home for very long and want the lowest monthly payment. Others enjoy the flexability to make different payments because of a fluctuating monthly income such as people who are self employed.
Ceiling - The maximum allowable interest rate over the life of the loan of an adjustable rate mortgage.
Piggyback Loan - A Piggyback Loan is an alternative to private mortgage insurance, sometimes referred to as a second trust loan. Usually this type of loan is an 80/10/10 where a first mortgage is taken out for 80% of the home’s value, a down payment of 10% is made and another 10% is financed in a second trust at a higher interest rate. In some instances, a borrower may even qualify for a piggyback loan with only a 5% down payment.
In addition to requiring Private Mortgage Insurance, the interest rates on mortgage loans of 90% of the purchase price are often higher than that of 80% loans. By utilizing a Piggyback loan structure, in addition to eliminating the extra costs of Mortgage Insurance, a home buyer can obtain a low conforming interest rate on the 80% first mortgage. Although the interest rate on the second mortgage would be higher, the higher interest is only applies to the smaller 10% of the loan.
Moreover, if the 10% second mortgage is a Home Equity Line of Credit (HELOC), the homeowner has the flexibility of making interest only payments or pay off any amount of the principal balance as his financial situation allows from month to month. Many homeowners with Piggyback loans build equity in their homes quickly by paying down the second mortgage with their year-end bonuses and tax refunds.
A Piggyback loan is usually closed at the same time and with the same lender that is used for the primary mortgage (80% of the total value)
Margin - The amount a mortgage lender applies to the index on an adjustable rate mortgage to establish the adjusted rate of interest. This adjustment occurs periodically as agreed in the mortgage contract.
A common margin for a conforming mortgage would be between 2.25 - 2.5% on an ARM. The margin is added to your index for your interest rate after your fixed period has ended.
The margin is the component on an Adjustable Rate Mortgage that is fixed. Whatever margin is stated in the loan note will stay that way for the life of the loan. The margin is added to the other component of the ARM, called the index to get the actual interest rate charged. The index will be subject to periodic changes as described in the loan note.
When you hear the term fully indexed rate, it usually refers to the rate you get when you add the margin to the index. For example:
Margin = 2.5
Index = 3.5
Fully Indexed rate is 6.0
Building Equity - There are quite a few ways to build equity in your home faster than a traditional fixed rate mortgage will allow. Within the first six years of your home, for every dollar you apply towards your mortgage, approximately twenty cents will go towards reducing your principle, or the original loan amount borrowed.
One way to increase the amount applied towards your principle is to increase your monthly payment to a higher amount. If this is not possible than structuring your mortgage with a bi-weekly payment plan will help to decrease your principle balance and increase the equity in your home.
Building a home also has an advantage over buying an existing home. When you build you usually end up with instant equity at the end of the construction phase. If you have good credit and want to build you should consider a construction loan or a one-time-close loan.
If you get a tax refund check every year, rather than spending it or put it in your savings account, apply it towards paying down the principal of your mortgage. Interest rates offered by most savings accounts and CD's do not come close to the interest rate charged on your mortgage loan. Paying down the principal in the early years of your loan can significantly lower the total interest expense in your mortgage over the life of your loan.
Instead of making an extra mortgage payment, many of the savviest personal real estate investors use any additional capital to invest in additional assets, which over an quivalent time period tend to build more value than additional payments to principal. Instead of trying to pay off your house 7 years faster, in certain areas it may be more profitable to invest that money in additional property. Assuming a 30 year mortgage, ask yourself, "How much was my house worth 23 years ago?". In most areas of the country, the answer might be 1/5th or even less of its current value. Now ask yourself how much even a relatively small additional investment would be worth in the same amount of time. In many areas you will likely find that owning more property is more lucrative than paying down principal, because they can always print more money, but they aren't making any more land.
Not all lenders allow you to structure and pay weekly or bi-weekly directly with them. You can do this on your own if you are diligent. Take your monthly mortgage payment and divide it by 4. If you always dedicate or set aside this dollar figure every week then in the months that have 5 weeks instead of 4 you add those additional funds to your principal that month. At the end of the year you will have put an entire monthly payment directly towards reducing your principal balance.
If you can make one extra payment per year you will end up knocking 6-7 years off of your mortgage.
Although property values are not garunteed to increase they have always risen and historically performed well. There may be times where values decrease slightly or stagnate but your investment in real estate will 99% of the time increase in value over time.
There is one very simple way to build equity without making any additional payments on your mortgage. That is simply to own property. In some areas of the country, southern California for instance, property values have risen over 20 per cent per year for the past couple of years. Although property is not guaranteed to increase in value, you can see that the more real property that you own the chances are very good that the more equity you will be building.
Building equity also comes from natural appreciation in your property. If you are in an up and coming area the value of your home, and equity will increase at a quicker pace.